Arvo Pärt: Tabula Rasa

Gidon Kremer – violin
Tatjana Grindenko – violin
Alfred Schnittke – prepared piano
Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra – conductor Saulus Sondeckis

“I have discovered that it is enough when a single note is beautifully played. This one note, or a silent beat, or a moment of silence, comforts me. I work with very few elements – with one voice, two voices. I build with primitive materials – with the triad, with one specific tonality. The three notes of a triad are like bells and that is why I call it tintinnabulation”- Arvo Pärt

Part 1 “Ludus”


Part 2 “Részlet”

( there is about six minutes missing from the end of part 2 but still worth hearing)


good review here


JD‘s profile and a list of his posts can be found in the left sidebar at this site.

1 comment for “tintinnabulation

  1. November 16, 2010 at 19:52

    I liked it heaps, JD.

Comments are closed.