Il periodo barocco [1]

This is the first of an eight part series, each part linked at the foot of this page. Part 8 is the most complete for exploring what Baroque music was about, the other parts just examples of that short but wonderful time.

Hope you enjoy them.

This evening’s is Monteverdi’s ciaccona ‘Zefiro Torna’ [1632], explained in detail in Part eight, included here as an intro or overture if you like.

The one usually played here, by L’Arpeggiata, features Rial and Jaroussky.

The one I chose below is quirky, weird and as one commenter wrote: ‘Can you imagine Claudio Monteverdi playing an electric keyboard and saxophone?’

Never mind, the voices hold up and this has something special the other versions do not – those girls to look at. The music is important, yes, but the overall experience is also important. And their expressions and mode de vêtement are … er … interesting.

So, do you have your drink and nibbles at the ready?

Shall explore them:

art project zefiro torna


1. Zefiro torna
2. Bertalli: Ciaconna
3. Vecchi: L’Amfiparnasso; Caccini: Amarilli
4. Uccellini, Kircher: Tarantella
5. La Carpinese; Scarlatti: Il Rosignollo
6. Visée: Ciaconna; Lute Duo
7. Cavalli: Innamorato; Los pàjaros perdidos: fandango
8. Baroque dissected

4 comments for “Il periodo barocco [1]

  1. January 25, 2017 at 18:52
  2. January 26, 2017 at 16:22

    I enjoyed it. The venue seems a little shabby though.

  3. dearieme
    January 26, 2017 at 16:49

    That certainly has charm. Well done them.

  4. January 26, 2017 at 18:22

    Just young lasses at university doing a project. I’ve been to their site and shall leave it at that.

    The other pieces on youtube don’t measure up for recording/production values – someone produced this one for them. These were precisely the sort of lasses I taught over there, same age, same look. One might be Tatar, though not with that name.

    I’m assuming the lad is also a student, the contrabassist the teacher.

    How easily basso continuo transfers to modern times – to take an electric piano, bass and sax and be able to render early 1600s is amazing.

Comments are closed.